top of page
Windmill - Seji Igusa
00:00 / 00:00

Finished!

Hi Everyone, I'm very excited to show you all this blog post, since I get to show you the finished product! So Let's get started.

It took a very long time to finish the finish (n pun intended). We applied the coats of paint, and then wetsanded starting at 400, and then we worked our way up to a softer and softer grit. We then buffed it out to make sure everything was shining beautifully, with no dull marks or "orange-peal" like patterns along the wood. This took several attempts and many days to do, but when we finished it was then time to put on the bridge! We glued it on and let it sit overnight. Unfortunately, after looking at it the next day, we realized that we had made it too thin, so we had to make another bridge (our 4th one)! Oh the ups and downs of guitar building.

After making the new bridge we glued it on, and again let it sit over night, and the next day we went to put on the neck. Now to do this you have to make sure the neck is straight and aligned with the bridge before putting it on and glueing the fretboard. After a few try's we realized it wasn't aligned right, so we took the neck off, cut out sanpaper in the shape of the neck, and then glued it directly on the body where the neck would sit. We then sanded the neck directly on the body. We measured it after sanding for a bit, and everything was nice and straight!

*New bridge being glued

When taking off grime or glue on instruments, we take a cloth use spray on it called "mineral spirits", we then rub it on with the cloth until the gunk comes off. This is where I had made a mistake. We used Nitro for the finish, which doesn't finish curing (*fully dry) for a few months, and when I went to take off the glue the nitro mixed with the finish, and I rubbed it too frequently, so much so that it ended up taking off the finish in that area!

Needless to say I was very disappointed, since we were going to string up the guitar that evening. There was only one thing left to do, we sprayed the body with another coat of nitro, and waited for the paint to dry. The next day it was back to wet sanding and buffing, which actually didn't take very long!

It was now time to get the neck on, and this time we got it one straight without any problem! I then went to work on my pegholes, using a tool I made each one big enough for the pegs to fit, I then sawed and used a file to make room for the spots where the strings would sit. We had already adjusted the action when we did a dry run of the instrument. (*Click HERE to view that post)

It was then the moment I had been weaiting for since October, and in fact even longer, a moment I had been waiting for ever since I started playing the guitar, the moment where I would string up my first instrument...

And this is what we heard...

(Sorry for the pool noises.... but we were at a pool...)

I was so content! I wish I could show you the guitar in person instead of on an iphone video, but maybe I can if you get a chance to drop by the shop.

I took it home and played and played past exhaustion!

Here's a few more pics of the guitar....

I couldn't have been more pleased with the instrument I made if I had tried! The guitar was not only beautiful sounding, but also looking!

I had researched many luthier schools before this one, and since then have researched many more, and none of them come close to the one-on-one apprentischip like atmosphere you get at Hawkins Guitars! Most are a kit course, an you really don'y take much bavk, because you don't know how to apply, without the use of their tools, etc. At hawkins Guitar you learn everything from beginning to end in intimate detail. You really get to know the guitar intimantely. You don't just leave having made a guitar shaped object, but really learn about sound and the secrets on how to get a guitar sounding great every time you build, starting with wood selection! Not only that, but Brian doesn't let you leave without your guitar matching or surpsassing the quality that he himself builds! I can attest first hand that this is true, and the photos prove it. Folks, Brians course is the closest thing you'll ever get to a luthier apprentischip in the States. He is a skilled and knowledgeable luthier, a luthier of luthiers, with the humility and patience that make it possible to learn from. He taught me that skill must be practiced, and has instructed me the whole way. I would highly reccomend his course to anyone questioning, "is this course right for me?" It is the best full guitar course, in my oppinion and research, that money can buy. And if anyone is interested in his course and wants more infromation from a past student of his, then please message me!

For Brians School click HERE!

I have learned so much during this course, that I couldn't just leave with an acoustic. I will be starting an electric here shortly! In the meantime, check out this awesome awesome set of cuban mahogany that I bought for it from Colonial Tonewoods!

SO I guess you haven't heard the last from me and my blog posts... it may be just the beginning! Until I get to share with you again please visit my teachers blog! He has lots of information on it, from humidity control, to wood choices, to set-ups, to much more... Check it out HERE.

If you liked this post and want to hear more about me and my guitar building then please enter your email into the subscription box below.

If you want to hear more about Brians Luthier School or his Guitars, then click HERE for his website, or HERE to "Like" his Facebook page!

Until next time,

~Daniel


Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page