top of page
Windmill - Seji Igusa
00:00 / 00:00

Side Sound-hole

Hi everyone! I've been working hard between repairs to finish up my guitar, so excited! In the meantime I thought I'd share with you how I made the side-soundhole! This will be a super short post, but hopefully a good one!

The first thing I did was to find and print out an oval. I then cut it out and located the spot on the top end of the sides where I would glue down the sound hole, and eventually cut out. I had to find a spot between my side-braces to place the sound hole. I placed it around the hump, because we had tested on different guitars and they showed us where we need to put the soundhole to get the most sound.

When I had centered and glued down the piece of paper we set up the router and with Brians help I cut out the soundhole. (*I have gotten better using the router on my own, and have since cut out a soundhole on another guitar)

After cutting it out, I sanded it down with .80 grit sandpaper to get the shape I wanted and then I smoothed out the edges. From there I went to a lighter and lighter grit until everything was super smooth. After sanding, I glued a blonde strip of wood around the soundhole for a decorative binding, and then sanded it down smooth in a similair way I did before.

Here's what it looked like finished! (*Sorry the pic is blurry)

Well, that's a wrap for now! I hope to keep you updated on the progress of my guitar. We'll be stringing it up this week, so stay tuned!

If you liked this post and want to get updates on me and my building, then enter your email in the subscription box below.

If you want to hear more about Brian, his guitars, or his school, then click HERE for his website, or HERE to "like" his FaceBook page.

Later days,

~Daniel

Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page